Holidays and Family

So I survived Thanksgiving with my family, and am actually feeling quite good about the time spent and experience I had, although I was admittedly only with family for just under 24 hours, when usually I stay at least two days.  Nobody said anything directly terrible to or about me, and I was able to ignore or deflect comments with which I fundamentally disagree without being too bothered by the comments or by my ignoring them.  I don’t think anything significant has changed about the Thanksgiving experience, but a year and a third of fat acceptance has built up my resilience.  But–I don’t know that that’s a good thing.

Being able to withstand fat hate so that I can be in the company of people who perpetuate it is not my goal as I pursue the path of fat acceptance; nor is it my goal that my family gets to spend more time with me because I’ve overcome the hate they’ve sent my way and am willing to ignore it.  I have many feelings about my relationship with my family, and I’d like to just sort them out here a little bit:

1.  I am grateful for the stability and reliability of my family as I was growing up.  Financial stability made many things possible for me and allowed my life to be unaffected by all the problems that can come up when money is lacking.  I am grateful for the stability of my parents’ marriage; although I don’t know that they were the best example of a happy marriage, they certainly were an example of a loyal one, and this again allowed my life to be free of certain problems.  My parents are both extremely conscientious and reliable, and many aspects of my childhood were well-managed.

2.  Because I was oppressed by my family’s fat prejudice, they will always be oppressors to me.  Even though many of them have not directed their prejudice towards me specifically in years and I may wish to forgive them, the victim/oppressor relationship will always be there.  I’m putting this in what is possibly harsh language because I think it is actually accurate and want to convince myself that it’s OK that I can’t just get over this.  Despite nothing terrible actually happening at THIS Thanksgiving, I’ve had some bad experiences in the past, and I spent the train ride to this one thinking up things I could say if people said certain things to me.  This was completely involuntary; I never put “think up responses to possible attacks” on my to-do list, but my brain obviously feels that attacks are always a possibility with family, and it decided to prepare.  Even if some of my family members are different people now who would not attack me, nothing could convince me that I can rely on that, and nothing can make them NOT the people who oppressed me in the past.  There’s too much bad history.  It’s kind of unfortunate, but I can’t make it untrue.  This leads to the next feeling…

3.  I feel guilty that I can’t forgive the family and be the daughter/granddaughter/niece that they want me to be.  Every time I see my family, almost every person gives me a guilt trip about how long it’s been since they saw me and how short a time I’m staying.  Then they thank me profusely for coming, as if I’m some huge martyr.  I have no idea how to respond to any of this, but if I could be honest, this is what I would say:  To me, four months is not such a long time between seeing family.  A 24 hour visit is the exactly right amount of time for this trip because (a) I’m an introvert who lives alone, so even if family events didn’t stress me out I might only want a day of socializing, (b) I’m a busy grad student who needs to work over this weekend, and still being with family would be distracting and (c) in order to take care of myself I need some time to rest, and rest for me is being at home, alone.  So I managed to plan this weekend to have quality family time, rest time, and work time, and I consider that a success, not something to be questioned.  And as for the thanks–I’m not a martyr; I wouldn’t be visiting with family if I was only driven by guilt.  Despite all the complications, I have varying degrees of affection for all of the people involved, they’re part of my life’s story that I don’t entirely reject, and seeing them every now and then is something that I want.  I just feel that I should get to determine the terms of my visits and then have my decisions respected.

4.  I do have real love for some members of my family, and good memories.

5.  Self-doubt.  I have two brothers, and the one who is 10 years younger than me appears to have very different feelings towards the family.  I recognize that this is likely because 10 years of everyone’s time makes a big difference, and because he has a much more extroverted, naturally resilient personality than I have.  Yet it still makes me question my memories of my childhood.  Another thing that made me question my memories was when I related a painful memory to my mother (one in which she’d been verbally abusive to me), and she didn’t remember the incident.  I know that this is probably because it wasn’t a big deal to her and it was a HUGE deal to me, but still, it makes me doubt myself.  I wonder “were things really as bad as I remember?”.  But they were–other people within the family just have a different perspective.

So I juggle all of these feelings (plus more), and no single one wins out–they’re always all there.  I wonder why it seems so simple for some other people to either accept and love and participate in their families, or reject them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

