On Anonymity

For me, this blog is therapeutic, primarily.  I also like the idea that these thoughts are out there for someone to find who can relate, since finding the fat-o-sphere blogs has been amazing for me.  I have mixed feelings about keeping the blog anonymous.  It really serves the therapy purpose, because it means I don’t need to restrict what I feel that I need to say, and I do quite a bit of restricting in the rest of my life, so it’s nice to have a place without it.  On the other hand, it means that some of the THINGS I BELIEVE stay in this little world, and that an entire side of me is only expressed here.  Sometimes I want all of these things to be out there, and linked to me, but sometimes I don’t.

There’s also the issue of activism.  I’d like to participate more in fat and body acceptance activism, and I feel like if all of this were out there, accessible to anyone who knows me, it would be easy, in some ways.  Also, I like the idea of posting photos of myself as a way of getting more fat bodies visible.  But do I want to come out as fat?  And even then, do I want all of these personal issues (eating disorders, family, etc.) to be accessible for everyone I know?  I’m a very private person, and I don’t know if that’s how I want to keep it or not.  Nearly-29 is becoming a very mentally-tumultuous time for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Anonymity

  1. I can relate to the idea you presented here. Although I am fat or in fat acceptance, I still come across questioning certain content I want to post that I want linked to me. Sometimes I just want to write something anonymously. Sometimes I don’t want it linked to me because I fear it might jeopardize my job, image, or my relationships with loved ones. I have had a history of restricting some things I want to say, I have written about doing so too.

    I don’t know what it’s like to be in your shoes, but I wish you the best of luck with figuring out whether or not you want to expose yourself and who you are to the world. 🙂

  2. Samantha C says:

    yeah, the anonymous question is a hard one. I put my first name on mine so I know it’s me and it feels like me, and I talk candidly but that does mean I can’t just put it up on facebook willy-nilly. It does mean that the people I’ve given the link to know it’s my own thoughts, so the people who can get it can be supportive.

    There’s no one right answer.

    • fattery says:

      Yeah, I could see eventually settling on an in-between state like that. This blog’s been up almost a year, and I think that’s still pretty new, so I’m giving myself some time to figure out where I want it to go.

Leave a Reply

